The Earth and Seed

The Fall

2003-11-05
There is something I am missing down here in the fall. Some feeling, some scent. I want my footsteps to kick up the crushed leaves and blow their sounds upwards. I miss the squint of my eyes when the bare trees let the wind fly right through them howling as it smacks my face.

I can remember a window I used to sit in late at night. Outside of it was a tree that I would swear has been standing longer than Man. There I could just stare at it, hanging my head out of the window, smoking continuously and taking it's stillness in. Time halted during those moments just long enough for me to align myself with this almost timeless being. It's always a humbling experience to see the things that came before and will certainly be there long after.

10:41 a.m. ::
prev :: next