The Earth and Seed

Old Nonsense Pt. 1

2003-11-21
Sitting before me I watched her brilliant face flicker from flame and then burn to ash. The sparks that remained were from her discontent and my celebration of indifference. Everytime I chose to look away I could feel my heart extinguish.

With increasing disregard, I turned her words into spit that began to drown me. Within her anger, I watched her words form around her mouth like foam from a predator. Her eyes trying to pounce on me so that they could hold me down to devour. I again just looked away and stared at the door. My mind was begging it to swing open and end the hunt. The room was moving like a storm that was bringing all of it�s the rain and it�s thunder. Inside, all I could feel was the lightning that I knew would create my own weather. I needed to strike like a brilliant light and crash through the door leaving only the rumbles behind me.

Outside there was a sidewalk overrun with dead leaves and long grass left untouched for months. The complacity inside was matched only by this walkway but a reminder is not what I needed, and a distant memory is what became. It�s the frozen image from a day that may have occurred long before because all I can remember is the cold air smack my face as I walked out the door, and scream relief as I felt it whistle through my car. I must have walked it though.

"This is an Exit"

9:27 a.m. ::
prev :: next